Thursday, April 3, 2008

The Mystery and Thriller Book Awards Committee

The Mystery and Thriller Book Awards are chosen by a distinguished committee of professionals drawn from the publishing industry. In order to preserve the integrity of the awards, the committee members will remain anonymous. However, the composition of the committee is as follows:
  • A New York Times bestselling author who has multiple awards nominations, including the Edgar, Barry and Anthony.
  • An editor at a top New York publishing house who has worked with a distinguished lineup of authors, including two of today's top-selling thriller writers.
  • An agent who works with a selection of acclaimed writers, including a winner of the Edgar Award.
  • A series author who has been nominated for both the Agatha and Anthony Awards multiple times.
  • A retired editor who once had two books simultaneously atop the bestseller lists, one fiction and one non-fiction.
  • An author published in multiple genres with over two dozen novels in print.
  • A New York-based playwright and essayist whose work has appeared Off-Broadway and in major newspapers and magazines across the country.
The awards we present won't always be based on a unanimous vote by all seven judges. But each judge will have input and nothing will be decided without a healthy majority decision.


richard p.w. said...

Wow, that's quite a line-up! I think I know who #7 is.

Anonymous said...

I think that #2 is Neil Nyren.